ACB: Pedestrian Safety Enhancement Act Update

I don’t have the original Pedestrian Safety Enhancement Act information, but it has to do with making quiet cars make noise, and other pedestrian safety concerns. This email contained a list of the representatives on board, and ACB is asking that the people not yet on board be contacted. I wish I had more information, but I’m pretty sure the legislation can be found online if searched for, and might even be somehwere on


I am quite pleased to share with all of you the updated cosponsorship list for the Pedestrian Safety Enhancement Act. There are 147 cosponsors in the House and 13 in the Senate. The full list is beneath this message.

If you haven’t done so already, please call or write your member to thank him-her for signing on. For those members who have not yet climbed aboard, Rep. Towns staff is impressed with the continued interest in this issue by other House and Senate staff. This is largely due to ACB’s tireless advocacy on this issue.
Keep it up!

Cosponsors H.R. 734
Cosponsors S. 841

H.R. 734, the Pedestrian Safety Enhancement Act of 2009
147 Cosponsors
111th Congress
October 21, 2009

Rep Neil Abercrombie – Hawaii
Rep Rodney Alexander – Louisiana
Rep Roscoe G. Bartlett – Maryland
Rep Shelley Berkley – Nevada
Rep Howard L. Berman – California
Rep Marion Berry – Arkansas
Rep Judy Biggert – Illinois
Rep Gus M. Bilirakis – Florida
Rep Rob Bishop – Utah
Rep Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. – Georgia
Rep Earl Blumenauer – Oregon
Rep Roy Blunt – Missouri
Rep John Boozman – Arizona
Rep Madeleine Z. Bordallo – Guam
Rep Dan Boren – Oklahoma
Rep Leonard L. Boswell – Iowa
Rep Robert A. Brady – Pennsylvania
Rep Bruce L. Braley – Iowa
Rep Corrine Brown – Florida
Rep Anh “Joseph” Cao – Louisiana
Rep Lois Capps – California
Rep Michael E. Capuano – Massachusetts
Rep Russ Carnahan – Missouri
Rep Christopher P. Carney – Pennsylvania
Rep Andre Carson – Indiana
Rep Yvette D. Clarke – New York
Rep Steve Cohen – Tennessee
Rep Gerald E. “Gerry” Connolly – Virginia
Rep John Conyers Jr. – Michigan
Rep Jerry Costello – Illinois
Rep Joe Courtney – Connecticut
Rep Ander Crenshaw – Florida
Rep Elijah Cummings – Maryland
Rep Kathleen Dahlkemper – Pennsylvania
Rep Danny K. Davis – Illinois
Rep Peter A. DeFazio – Oregon
Rep William D. Delahunt – Massachusetts
Rep Michael F. Doyle – Pennsylvania
Rep Steve Driehaus – Ohio
Rep Donna Edwards – Maryland
Rep Keith Ellison – Minnesota
Rep Brad Ellsworth – Indiana
Rep Jo Ann Emerson – Missouri
Rep Chaka Fattah – Pennsylvania
Rep Bob Filner – California
Rep Bill Foster – Illinois
Rep Sam Graves – Missouri
Rep Al Greene – Texas
Rep Gene Green – Texas
Rep Raul M. Grijalva – Arizona
Rep Luis V. Gutierrez – Illinois
Rep Phil Hare – Illinois
Rep Jane Harman – California
Rep Alcee L. Hastings – Florida
Rep Martin Heinrich – New Mexico
Rep Stephanie Sandlin Herseth – South Dakota
Rep Maurice D. Hinchey – New York
Rep Mazie K. Hirono – Hawaii
Rep Tim Holden – Pennsylvania
Rep Jesse L. Jackson, Jr. – Illinois
Rep Henry C. “Hank,” Johnson Jr. – Georgia
Rep Walter B. Jones, Jr. – North Carolina
Rep Paul E. Kanjorski – Pennsylvania
Rep Marcy Kaptur – Ohio
Rep Patrick J. Kennedy – Rhode Island
Rep Steve King – Iowa
Rep Larry Kissell – North Carolina
Rep Frank Kratovil, Jr. – Maryland
Rep Leonard Lance – New Jersey
Rep Tom Latham – Iowa
Rep Steven C. LaTourette – Ohio
Rep Barbara Lee – California
Rep John Lewis – Georgia
Rep Daniel Lipinski – Illinois
Rep David Loebsack – Iowa
Rep Nita M. Lowey – New York
Rep Daniel E. Lungren – California
Rep Carolyn B. Maloney – New York
Rep Donald A. Manzullo – Illinois
Rep Edward J. Markey – Massachusetts
Rep Doris O. Matsui – California
Rep Betty McCollum – Minnesota
Rep Jim McDermott – Washington
Rep James P. McGovern – Massachusetts
Rep Mike McIntyre – North Carolina
Rep Charlie Melancon – Louisiana
Rep John L. Mica – Florida
Rep Michael H. Michaud – Maine
Rep Brad Miller – North Carolina
Rep Jeff Miller – Florida
Rep Walter Minnick – Idaho
Rep Alan B. Mollohan – West Virginia
Rep Gwen Moore – Wisconsin
Rep James P. Moran – Virginia
Rep Jerrold Nadler – New York
Rep Richard E. Neal – Massachusetts
Rep Randy Neugebauer – Texas
Rep Eleanor Holmes Norton – Washington, DC
Rep James L. Oberstar – Minnesota
Rep Ed Pastor – Arizona
Rep Donald Payne – New Jersey
Rep Collin C. Peterson – Minnesota
Rep Thomas E. Petri – Wisconsin
Rep Pedro R. Pierluisi – Puerto Rico
Rep Chellie Pingree – Maine
Rep Todd Russell Platts – Pennsylvania
Rep Earl Pomeroy – North Dakota
Rep David E. Price – North Carolina
Rep Nick J. Rahall., II – West Virginia
Rep Charles B. Rangel– New York
Rep David P. Roe – Tennessee
Rep Dana Rohrabacher – California
Rep lleana Ros-Lehtinen – Florida
Rep Peter J. Roskam – Illinois
Rep Steven R. Rothman – New Jersey
Rep C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger – Maryland
Rep Tim Ryan – Ohio
Rep Linda T. Sanchez – California
Rep John P. Sarbanes – Maryland
Rep Janice D. Schakowsky – Illinois
Rep Adam B. Schiff – California
Rep Jose E. Serrano – New York
Rep Pete Sessions – Texas
Rep Joe Sestak – Pennsylvania
Rep Carol Shea-Porter – New Hampshire
Rep Heath Shuler – North Carolina
Rep Albio Sires – New Jersey
Rep Pete Fortney Stark – California
Rep Cliff Stearns – Florida
Rep Betty Sutton – Ohio
Rep Ellen O. Tauscher – California
Rep Gene Taylor – Mississippi
Rep Harry Teague – New Mexico
Rep Lee Terry – Nebraska
Rep Glen Thompson – Pennsylvania
Rep John F. Tierney – Massachusetts
Rep Dina Titus – Nevada
Rep Chris Van Hollen – Maryland
Rep Timothy J. Walz – Minnesota
Rep Debbie Wasserman Schultz – Florida
Rep Maxine Waters – California
Rep Peter Welch – Vermont
Rep Robert Wexler – Florida
Rep Charles A. Wilson – Ohio
Rep Robert J. Wittman – Virginia
Rep David Wu – Oregon
Rep Don Young – Alaska

S. 841 13 Cosponsors
October 20, 2009

Sen. Evan Bayh – Indiana
Sen. Robert F. Bennett – Utah
Sen. Richard Burr – North Carolina
Sen. Benjamin L. Cardin – Maryland
Sen. Richard Durbin – Illinois
Sen. Orrin G. Hatch – Utah
Sen. Edward Kennedy – Massachusetts
Sen. Barbara Mikulski – Maryland
Sen. Arlen Specter – Pennsylvania
Sen. David Vitter – Louisiana
Sen. Roger Wicker – Mississippi
Sen. Susan Collins – Maine
Sen. Sam Brow

Leave a Comment

Filed under ACB, advocacy, politics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.